top of page

A city like no other - Jerusalem (mini blog 2)

What a view... Before we even had time to wake up we were off speeding along the narrow streets of Jerusalem heading towards the Mount of Olives. In a city like this the rules of the road, let's say don't really apply! Our mini bus up the hill was an adventure in itself, the world going by so fast that I thought we were going to take off, especially round the corners high up on the mountain road! Before we knew it we were on top of the beautiful Mount of Olives! From here we would be walking...

Stepping off the bus into the glorious & warm sunshine was incredible... and as I saw the view I now was suddenly wide awake. Suddenly I became speechless. It was one of those moments that no photo can bring a true justice. Only seeing it with your own eyes, physically feeling the warm breeze on your face, and seeing the chaotic scenes of the surrounding people and animals was the only thing that could bring this place truly to life! A chaotic perfection Whilst taking in the views over this great historic city with its huge towering walls it came to my attention that it was also an incredibly busy place to be. There were tourist running with cameras all over the place (including yours truly) and an endless sea of selfies with some of the cheesiest grins I've seen in to date... but to be fair somewhere like this you couldn't help but smile! Suddenly a camel walked by, a first for me, I've only ever seen them in zoos. All a sudden I found myself on a mission, to grab a selfie with a camel! If the owner saw me taking a photo I know he would of demanded money, me being a white English guy with a camera in hand and all that, nothing is free here. I positioned myself sitting on a wall where the camel was tied behind, the owner disappeared behind a passing coach. This was my one opportunity... The things I do to spare myself 10 Israeli Shekels! The Gardens of Gethsemane The gardens are so beautiful, thousands upon thousand of olives hanging from trees that looked like they had been there for hundreds of years all up the side of the mountain. Some of the olive trees were so old the trunks had become hollow, with people's hand written prayers squeezed beneath the crumbling bark. This was a real place of peace, hope and beauty. The surrounding noice of the city became faded momentarily into a distant memory. I just shut my eyes for a brief moment, taking in the smells of the olives and gardens, it just felt natural in this moment to thank God for all he has done. We read a short passage of scripture and we were soon on our way journeying on foot back towards the old walls. The Walls of Jerusalem After a 20 minute walk in the now super hot sun bearing down on the mountain side, we now reached the walls heading up towards the Dung gate, one of many gates into the old city. 30C and no breeze with Lizards running past our feet from tree to tree, the walk round the walls was sure hot but incredible with so much to see and admire! Once through the gate into the old city, it was like stepping into a scene from an Indiana Jones movie. There was stuff going on everywhere from dancing in the streets & middle eastern music to people shouting and singing as well as people to one side trying to sell us tatty souvenirs and to the other 'professional' beggars waving empty jars in my face! Ahead I saw a huge crowd... then I realised we had reached our next destination. The Western Wall Thank you to all of you who read my blogs, the support I get from you all is unbelievable and so kind. I like to be very honest and open when I share my stories. This next bit is very personal to me as a Christian, this is a short look into my experience at the Western Wall as a believer. After queuing in the intense heat, we made it though security and into the Western Wall. This is a very important place to the Jews but also to Christians too. For me it's a place of prayer, a place I can give thanks to God for all He's done in my life. In respect I wore a Jewish cap, I approached the 2000 year old rugged wall, placed my hands against it and for a short time said a few prayers of thanksgiving. It was a very special moment, a moment where it was like there was no one else around even though I was surrounded by thousands of people, it was so peaceful. It's a moment I shall cherish all my life. Leaving the walls a pigeon decided to send me a passing gift right onto my hand. Thanks mate... now where's my anti-bacterial hand gel! Up through the markets We passed through a jungle of bags and scarfs, a real sea of colour and thriving culture. Every person grabbing your attention, trying to draw out into their small shack of Israeli goodies. The smell of the street food and spices filled the air, my stomach rumbled and begged me for food! We passed up through the markets and came out looking onto the beautiful sand coloured buildings and the beautiful Tower of David (Herods Palace). Christ Church was to the left, we passed through the gates and sat at the coffee shop opposite. We found ourselves ordering a all you can eat buffet. All delicious local cuisine. Two plates overloaded, with olives scattered all over (I love olives!) and rice pudding so tasty that I would happily live of it for the rest of my life! We visited the church, a beautiful building rich in history. Aaron headed up CMJ (Christian Mission for the Jews). He here onwards would be our guide around the church and the Tower of David. He was so knowledgeable; in the UK we think our lives in such a Western understanding, he taught us from another perspective, my eyes have been opened in a new way to this World. The Garden Tomb The garden was lush and green. Hidden away just outside the walls of Jerusalem. It was one of those places that just seem so perfect, a place you can just zone out from the outside world. Everything in the garden matched perfectly to the Bible, regarding the crucifixion and burial of Jesus Christ. After visiting the tomb from where the stone once rolled away, I was filled in awe and amazement. Together we took communion; no communion service I don't think will ever again compare to that moment. He is not here, for He has risen! Yad Vashem (Day 2 in Jerusalem) Walking up the hill to the highly modern tram station I knew today may be a place of tears and remembrance. Yad Vashem is the huge beautiful museum is completely dedicated to those who were brutally murdered during the Holocaust. I like to keep my blogs positive but this was something I just needed to include. Millions of innocent Jews lost their lives simply for what they believed in during this horrific time. I'm not going to go into details on the stories I heard. It's somewhere I really recommend visiting if you visit Jerusalem... this poem from a Jew at the time pretty much sums up everything. Ponary Softly, Softly! Let's be silent! Graves are growing here. They were sown by our tormentors, Green the grow, and fair. Towards Ponary run roads aplenty, From Ponary not one. Father's disappeared, and with him All our joy is gone. This is also where this blog shall end! There's so many more stories I long to share, just ask me about them in person and I'll share them with you. I promise part 3 will be a fun blog, telling the stories of the Dead Sea and Red Sea :) Drakey x 



You Might Also Like:
bottom of page